Slim Shoppin’ Recipe

Guest Post by SlimshoppinJenn from iChange

This is one of my favorite things to make.  It’s easy, inexpensive and you can add all sorts of veggies to this to bulk it up.

Slumgulion
1 pound ground sirloin
1 green pepper
1 onion
3 cloves garlic
2 14. oz. cans of tomato sauce
1 14. oz. can diced tomatoes
3 cups elbow pasta (uncooked)
salt and pepper to taste
1-2 TB. oregano
Splash of hot sauce
Directions:  Cook pasta according to directions, drain and set aside.
In a large pot, add the ground sirloin (or turkey or boca crumbles!) and cook until no longer pink, drain any fat.
I don’t like chunks of vegetables, so in a blender I add the diced tomatoes, the green pepper, onion and garlic and puree until smooth.  Add that to the ground beef, with the tomato sauce and add back the cooked pasta and just stir until well combined and cook on low for about 15 minutes.
It makes about 10 1 cup servings.
Each 1 cup serving is approx. 191 calories, 6.9 fat and 2.8 fiber.

I’ve also added more veggies if its getting towards the end of the week.  I’ve added fresh spinach, cauliflower, carrots, jalapeno, and just add that to the blender and mix everything together with the tomato sauce.  It’s so good!!  And just to change it up, I have used different types of pasta too.  I’ve used wagon wheels, bow tie, penne, etc…

You can follow Slim Shoppin’ here

Bookmark and Share

One response to “Slim Shoppin’ Recipe

  1. This looks like something my mom used to make when I was a kid -minus the veggie puree – called Goulash. I still make it for my kids, but I LOVE the idea of pureeing the veggies – they’ll never know they’re eating them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

