5 ways to keep my 2009 New Year’s Resolution: Locavore

Lakeridge Winery

My new year’s resolution, becoming a Locavore, will be my biggest and most rewarding challenge for 2009.

A locavore is someone who eats food grown or produced locally or within a certain radius such as 50, 100, or 150 miles. The locavore movement encourages consumers to buy from farmers’ markets or even to produce their own food, with the argument that fresh, local products are more nutritious and taste better. Locally grown food is an environmentally friendly means of obtaining food, since supermarkets that import their food use more fossil fuels and nonrenewable resources.(1)

5 Ways I plan to keep my Resolution:

1. Purchase from a Farmer’s Market – I used local harvest to determine the farmer’s markets in my area. Audubon Park Community Market occurs every Wednesday evening from 4 – 9 p.m. and is 20 minutes from my house. I have added this task to my calendar for the entire year of 2009.

2. Menu Planning – I will have to revise my family’s menu plan to include what is in season and I have found a resource for guidance. Recipes will need to be added to the menu planning process. No more processed or convenience foods. I use Weight1Minute software for menu planning, recipes, and grocery lists.

3. Plant an Edible Garden – Plans are in development for a vegetable garden in my backyard. Considering I have no experience in planting and maintaining a garden, I will have to gain knowledge about how to plant a garden.

4. Read Books about Locavores – I have scheduled reading times on my calendar for 100 mile diet and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. These are books about eating local for one year.

5. Write about it – I plan to keep an online journal of my adventure of becoming a locavore. I will publish writings on Iowa Avenue and Ask The Dietitians.

The adventure begins with finding a local winery that produces wine from the Muscadine grape. Studies conducted by the National Cancer Institute, the University of Florida and the Nutraceutical Research Laboratories at the University of Georgia found that the Muscadine grape has one of the highest antioxidant levels among fruits. Antioxidants play a key role in maintaining a healthy immune system. Their findings also showed the Muscadine holds anti-inflammatory properties, the ability to lower bad (LDL) cholesterol while raising good (HDL) cholesterol, and inhibit the growth of prostate and breast cancer cells.(2)

What is your New Year’s Resolution and how do you plan to keep it?

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Local_food

2. http://www.lakeridgewinery.com/wines-health.php

One response to “5 ways to keep my 2009 New Year’s Resolution: Locavore

  1. South Beach Steve

    This is a great post. I think we would all be better off if we chose to eat from more local sources. I definitely don’t do as well as I could on this in the winter, but our family grows most of our food in the summer.

Leave a Reply

