The Minimalist Lifestyle – how do I get there from here?

You can’t get there from here—that is what I’m thinking when I take a look around my living quarters.

Minimalist living is stress free living. A minimalist will be relaxed at home and a relaxed person is a healthy person. Health is the reason for existence.

I have become stressed and burdened by the clutter that surrounds me. Let me explain. Four years ago, I sold my home in Mount Dora and moved to Orlando to care for my grandmother who has Alzheimer’s. My grandmother grew up during the depression and saved everything. That stuff is still here. At first, I attempted to clear the clutter but it upset her so much that I had to stop. Unfortunately, her Alzheimer’s has become so bad that I don’t think she will even notice if I “clear the clutter” and attempt to live a minimalist lifestyle.

So, how do I get there from here?

I’ve decided to do the 27-Fling Boogie on a daily basis, courtesy of the FLYLady. Will you join me? Here is what the FLYLady says . . .

We do this assignment as fast as we can. Take a garbage bag and walk through your home and throw away 27 items. Do not stop until you have collected all 27 items. Then close the garbage bag and pitch it. DO NOT LOOK IN IT!!! Just do it.

Next, take an empty box and go through your home collecting 27 items to give away. Suze Orman taught me this in her book, The Courage to be Rich. This will change the energy in your home and bring about good feelings. Every time I do this I feel better and my home is becoming decluttered in the process. As soon as you finish filling the box, take it to the car. You are less tempted to rescue the items.

Rule of thumb: if you have two of any item and you only need one, get rid of the least desirable.

I also sing a wonderful song as I am doing this fun job: “Please Release Me, Let Me Go” as sung from the stuff’s point of view.

So . . . 365 days of getting rid of 54 things each day. That means by the end of a year I will have tossed almost 20,000 things. 20,000 less things to worry about. Does my grandmother really have that many things? Probably, If you count each and every piece of paper as well.

In order to post about my progress, I have created a group called “27 Fling Boogie” at Iowa Avenue. Come join me there. I hope you post yours as well. Just think how healthy we will be. A clear house = a clear mind. I’m looking forward to it. How about you?

6 responses to “The Minimalist Lifestyle – how do I get there from here?

  1. My husband and I used to play music to keep us cleaning faster. We’d make a rule like by the end of the song we had to finish the dishes or something like that. I heard about Fly Lady from some young mothers that I used to teach with. They all used to laugh about having their kitchen sinks clean every day.

  2. Almost Vegetarian

    That is a brilliant idea.Every season I go through our home and clear the clutter. If there is enough of it (and where, on earth, does it all come from?), we hold a garage sale. The goal is to get rid of the stuff, not to make money, so we keep the sale short and the prices low. Bonus: We usually make enough for a nice meal.If there isn’t enough for a sale, we donate and give away everything we can and discard the rest.And you are so right – it is so much easier to live in a clutter-free space. Soothing. Quiet. And calm.Cheers!

  3. We’ll sometimes get in “cleaning mode” and go through and really toss and donate. It feels good to do this. So, the question – why not more often? I like the idea of 27 things – I think we’ll give that a shot (but not every day…). Sounds like a pretty cool way to quickly get rid of some of the “junk” in our lives.

  4. becoming minimalist

    the 27 fling boogie, huh? how long does it typically take you to complete one boogie?

  5. Diana Young, RD, LD, CDE

    @becoming minimalist – it usually takes me around 30 minutes on average.

  6. Include references to supporting documentation, like research papers and articles. Focus on the specific niche, several niches, or come up with topics over the board. http://tinyurl.com/mtqyc6s

Leave a Reply

