Would you Buy this Product? Why or Why Not?

My dear husband, who does all our grocery shopping, bought this product by mistake. Reduced Fat, No Sugar Added, Double Strawberry Ice Cream. So I decided to give it a whirl. The first bite was good but I noticed a very different mouth feel than the “original” version. Honestly, I prefer the original.

But if you were reading the nutrition label, would you buy this product? Why or why not.

3 responses to “Would you Buy this Product? Why or Why Not?

  1. Leigh Ann, MyFamilyDoctor Mag

    Ooooh, what a good question. Is it a trick? I’m scared.OK, I don’t like the saturated fat content, but I do like the fiber content. I think I might compare it to the regular version and decide from there.This is why we have knowledgeable R.D.s like you write our articles. So many things to consider.I look forward to hearing what you and others say.Leigh Ann HubbardManaging EditorJames Hubbard’s My Family Doctor

  2. I wouldn’t buy it, but I wouldn’t even look at the nutrition lable. I would look at the bok and see that it’s called “blue rabbit” and has a swirl pattern that resembles a very sad rabbit face.

  3. This is a great example of why advertising and packaging can be very deceiving. I always remind my patients to check the actual Nutrition Facts label and never to judge a book by its cover (or an ice cream by its container!).I generally recommend snacks that have 5 grams total fat or less per serving, so this reduced fat ice cream is not a bad choice. There are a lot of other brands that are just as low, if not lower, in total fat content. Many of the “slow churned” and “double churned” varieties tend to have less fat than their original counterparts because they are lighter and airier.Now the ‘No Sugar Added’ claim is where things can get confusing. For those people who are watching their carbohydrate intake, specifically for diabetes, the number that has the most importance is the Total Carbohydrate grams; the grams of sugar, fiber and sugar alcohols are all included in that total. There really is not much difference in carbohydrate content between Regular and ‘No Added Sugar’ versions.Lastly, the sugar alcohols are something worth mentioning. Sugar alcohols are ingredients that are used to sweeten foods in place of table sugar. If you read the ingredients and you notice words that end in ‘ol,’ those are sugar alcohols. While this ice cream uses lactitol, other examples are maltitol, sorbitol, xylitol and manitol. These do not raise the blood sugar levels as much as table sugar, but they can have some unpleasant side effects such as gas pains, diarrhea and stomach upset.So to get back to the original question, if you don’t like the taste of this product, why eat it? There are plenty of other varieties on the market that offer similar nutritional values and may not have you running to the nearest bathroom!

Leave a Reply

