Slow Down – It’s Healthy


Stress is not your friend.

Stress is the leading cause of unprecedented health problems.

We are over scheduled — rushing towards the next task. We rush to work, we rush at work, then we rush home, we rush our food, our family time, and our fun time.

I choose to slow down, actually I don’t have a choice if I want to see my daughter grow up. I have a health problem and stress will kill me if I let it.

My mother has never told me what to do, but yesterday she read me the riot act. She wants me to slow down and get out of the stressful situation I am in – caring for an Alzheimer’s patient – her mother, my grandmother. Believe me when I say I am ready to do just that.

With my mother’s help, I carved out a plan. In 9 months, I will move into my cottage in Mount Dora and live a simplistic lifestyle – stress free. I must say I am looking forward to it.

I am sure you are wondering if I will continue to write/blog and keep my sites – yes I will – blogging is therapy for me – I love it – its fun and relaxing.

So my question to you is . . . what is your source of stress and what are you doing to rid yourself of that stress? I want to know. I also would like to know of any blogs you frequent regarding voluntary simplicity. I will be joining you there and putting into practice the suggestions given. I will leave you with the following lyrics of my favorite childhood song:

The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)
( Simon & Garfunkel )

Slow down, you move too fast
You’ve got to make the morning last now
Just kickin’ down the cobble stones
Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy!
(La,la,la,la,la,la, feelin’ groovy)

Hello, lamp post, whatcha knowing?
I’ve come to watch your flowers growing
Ain’t ya got no rhymes for me?
Doot-in’ doo-doo, feelin’ groovy!
(La,la,la,la,la,la, feelin’ groovy)

Got no deeds to do, no promises to keep
I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep
Let the morning time drop all its petals on me
Life, I love you, all is groovy!
(La,la,la,la,la,la, feelin’ groovy)
(La,la,la,la,la,la, feelin’ groovy)

3 responses to “Slow Down – It’s Healthy

  1. Diana Young, RD, LD, CDE

    A friend just emailed me the following list of how stress kicks the body:trouble sleeping headaches constipation diarrhea irritability lack of energy lack of concentration eating too much or not at all anger sadness higher risk of asthma and arthritis flare-ups tension stomach cramping stomach bloating skin problems, like hives depression anxiety weight gain or loss heart problems high blood pressure irritable bowel syndrome diabetes neck and/or back pain less sexual desire harder to get pregnant

  2. Stress of the unknown…are my children going to be ok? How are the starving people in the world going to survive? Are there wars around the corner? How is the environment? Why are the oil prices so high? What about the abused children? How can I help and on and on and on. Stress is such an overpowering emotion that often it has a negative effect on me physically, emotionally and even mentally. How fortunate you are that you can set a goal towards a stress free living and actually do it! Great post!

  3. Pingback: 40 Days of Action « Diana Young RD

Leave a Reply

