Rethinking a Day in the Life of an Orlando Dietitian

Last week I spent several days visiting a patient at her home in Orlando near the intersection of Hiawassee and Silver Star, which is located in crime hills, I mean Pine Hills. After I realized I may not be safe, I had my husband drive me to the next visit. The apartment complex was riddled with bullet holes and my husband heard a gun go off.

If you haven’t kept up with the Orlando news lately, crime is out of control. Just read these 2 excerpts from the Orlando Sentinel:

Orlando Crime: “I don’t know what happened. There’s something in the water. People are killing each other right and left,” said Capt. Mike Miller, who until his retirement Nov. 6 was major-case commander at the Orange Sheriff’s Office.

At the Medical Examiner’s Office, the Orange homicide caseload jumped more than 75 percent, from 89 in 2005 to 156 in 2006, according to a recent report.

At a traditional family gathering, I listened while my brother-in-law, a dispatcher for the Orange County Police, repeatedly advised me not to continue seeing patients at their homes. And if that wasn’t enough to convince me to rethink my home health career, there’s this:

http://www.orlandofloridasucks.com/Orlando_crime.htm

All this brings me to my New Year’s Resolution for 2008:

Take my career as a dietitian to the World Wide Web.

Currently, you will find me at these sites:

The Menu Coach Chronicles http://menucoach.blogspot.com/

Ask the Dietitian at 200 Iowa Avenue A Weight Management Community http://www.iowaavenue.com/profile/askthedietitian
Diana Young, RD, LD/N, CDE http://www.themenucoach.com/

Weight1Minute http://www.weight1minute.com/

Come join me on my new adventure for 2008.

As I always say:

Sometimes you just have to take a leap and grow your wings on the way down.

2 responses to “Rethinking a Day in the Life of an Orlando Dietitian

  1. I used to live in Orlando back in 89 and it was a wonderful place. New homes were being built and things seem so pleasant. I am sad to hear it has gone to pot. First and foremost stay safe.

  2. Diana Young, RD, LD, CDE

    The company just sent me pepper spray!

Leave a Reply

